Additional Navigation
Awards + honors

Al Roker receives AASCU’s 2020 Distinguished Alumnus Award

November 3, 2020

Al Roker ’76, weather and feature anchor on NBC News’ "TODAY" and a member of the Oswego College Foundation Board of Directors, was recognized by the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) with the 2020 Distinguished Alumnus Award during a virtual ceremony on Oct. 27.

Awards + honors

Ongoing sustainability work leads to ‘Green Colleges’ recognition, growing efforts

November 2, 2020

SUNY Oswego was again recognized among the nation's most environmentally responsible colleges by the Princeton Review. In “The Princeton Review’s Guide to Green Colleges 2021 Edition,” SUNY Oswego was noted as "absolutely overflowing with sustainability.”

Awards + honors

SUNY Oswego ranked nationally in Washington Monthly’s ‘public good’ index

October 5, 2020

SUNY Oswego earned a national ranking among best colleges in their class in Washington Monthly’s annual college guide that measures how institutions benefit the public good through student upward mobility, research and civic engagement.

Awards + honors

3 Oswego alumni win CNY Short Film Competition grand prizes

August 5, 2020

Three of the four winners of the CNY Short Film Competition are SUNY Oswego graduates who will receive generous support to bring their film ideas to life.

Awards + honors

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service recognizes dedicated duo

July 31, 2020

Barbara St. Michel, associate director of Campus Life, and Tyrone Johnson-Neuland, assistant director for technical support in Campus Technology Services, had their decades of dedication to SUNY Oswego recognized through the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Professional Service.

Awards + honors

Juan Perdiguero receives Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities

July 22, 2020

In addition to being a world-renowned artist, educator and Fulbright Scholar, SUNY Oswego art professor Juan Perdiguero can add another honor: earning the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.

Awards + honors

Ampalavanar Nanthakumar earns Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

July 15, 2020

SUNY Oswego mathematics professor Ampalavanar Nanthakumar recently earned the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, recognizing his exemplary skills as an educator, dedication to students and contributions to the field of statistics.

Awards + honors

Lindsay McCluskey earns national fellowship supporting teaching, research

June 3, 2020

Communication studies faculty member Lindsay McCluskey has earned a competitive fellowship that will support her teaching, research, service and leadership.

Awards + honors

SUNY Oswego graduates earn Chancellor’s Graduate Fellowships

May 27, 2020

Two SUNY Oswego graduates from the Class of 2020 -- Ajaneé Fryar and Laura Piekunka -- are among 100 honorees statewide for the new Chancellor’s Undergraduate Scholarships and Graduate Fellowships for the State of New York.

Awards + honors

Fehmi Damkaci earns President’s Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity

April 30, 2020

Ongoing research efforts, leadership for an international research competition and a selfless disposition helped make Fehmi Damkaci, professor and chair of chemistry, this year’s winner of the President’s Award for Scholarly and Creative Activity.